Wreath Laying Ceremony to mark the Commemoration of the 190th Anniversary of Abolition of Slavery on 01st February 2025 at the International Slave Route Monument at **Le Morne**.







Figure 1: Welcome Group



Figure 2: Dr the Hon Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM, GCSK, FRCP, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius, accompanied by the Hon Mahendra GONDEEA, OSK, Minister of Arts and Culture



Figure 3: The Hon Paul Raymond BÉRENGER, GCSK, Deputy Prime Minister, accompanied by the Hon Mahendra GONDEEA, OSK, Minister of Arts and Culture



Figure 4: Group Photo of the Wreath Laying Ceremony



Figure 5: Wreath Laying by the Hon Dr Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM, GCSK, FRCP, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius



Figure 6: Wreath Laying by H.E Jean Yvan Robert Hungley, Vice-President of the Republic of Mauritius



Figure 7: Wreath Laying by the Hon Paul Raymond BÉRENGER, GCSK, Deputy Prime Minister



Figure 8: Wreath Laying by Hon (Mrs) Marie Arianne NAVARRE-MARIE, Minister of Gender Equality and Family Welfare



Figure 9: Wreath Laying by Hon Mahendra GONDEEA, OSK, Minister of Arts and Culture



Figure 10: Wreath Laying by Hon Veronique LEU-GOVIND, Junior Minister, Ministry of Arts and Culture



Figure 11: Wreath Laying by Hon Georges Lesjongard, Leader of the Opposition



Figure 12: Wreath Laying by H.E Dr Hlamalani Nelly MANZINI, High Commissioner of the Republic of South Africa to Mauritius

Official Ceremony to mark the Commemoration of the 190th Anniversary of Abolition of Slavery on 01st February 2025 at Le Morne Public Beach.



Figure 13: Dr the Hon Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM, GCSK, FRCP, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius addressing the audience



Figure 14: The Hon Paul Raymond BÉRENGER, GCSK, Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius addressing the audience



Figure 15: The Hon Mahendra GONDEEA, OSK, Minister of Arts and Culture addressing the audience



Figure 16: The Hon (Mrs) Veronique LEU-GOVIND, Junior Minister, Ministry of Arts and Culture addressing the audience



Figure 17: National Anthem by "Zanfan Le Morne"



Figure 18: Slam by Mr Maxs Juguilio Pierre Louis, winner of Slam Competition, Category Teenager



Figure 19: Slam by Mrs Christelle Speville, Winner of Slam Competition, Category Adult



Figure 20: Remittance of cheque to Mrs Christelle Speville, Winner of Slam Competition (Adult Category) by Dr the Hon Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM, GCSK, FRCP, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius



Figure 21: Remittance of cheque to Mr Maxs Juguilio Pierre Louis, Winner of Slam Competition (Teenager Category) by the Hon Paul Raymond BÉRENGER, GCSK, Deputy Prime Minister



Figure 22: Remittance of cheque to the representative of Marie Teshia Princessca Pascalina Gaspard, Winner of Slam Competition (Child Category) by H.E Jean Yvan Robert Hungley, Vice-President of the Republic of Mauritius





Figure 23: Spektak Mizikal featuring children as the main characters, highlighting themes of resistance, liberty and the rich heritage passed down from ancestors