THE ENGLISH-SPEAKING UNION ACT 1993

Act No. 17 of 1993

I assent

C. UTEEM President of the Republic

14 June 1993

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

Section

- 1. Short title
- 2. Interpretation
- 3. Establishment of the Union
- 4. Objects of the Union
- 5. Patron of the Union
- 6. Executive Committee

An Act

To provide for the establishment and management of the English-Speaking Union

ENACTED by the Parliament of Mauritius, as follows-

1. Short title

This Act may be cited as the English-Speaking Union Act 1993.

2. Interpretation

In this Act-

"Committee" means the Executive Committee appointed under section 6;

"Fund" means the General Fund established under section 8;

"Union" means the English-Speaking Union established under section 3.

3. Establishment of the Union

- (1) There is established for the purposes of this Act a body corporate to be known as the English-Speaking Union.
- (2) The Union shall have its registered office at the British Council, Rose Hill, or at such other place as the Committee may determine.
- (3) The Union may be affiliated to an Organisation in another country whose objectives are similar to those of the Union.

4. Objects of the Union

The objects of the Union shall be-

C:\My Documents\Acts1993\No.017-THE ENGLISH-SPEAKING UNION ACT 1993.doc

Execution of documents General Fund Audit Donations

11. Rules

- (a) to promote the English language both in its written and spoken forms;
- (b) to promote understanding and friendship between the English-Speaking peoples of the world and to engage in any educational work designated to further that objective;
- (c) (e) to provide facilities for the interchange of views and discussion concerning any, question affecting the interests, wellbeing, development, relationships and common problems of the English-Speaking peoples of the world;
- (d) to promote and encourage education in any form amongst English-Speaking peoples, for the benefit of both adults and young persons, but with special reference to the historical, cultural, artistic, economic, diplomatic and social development of those peoples;
- to provide facilities for exchange programmes and the exchange of views and social intercourse between the Union and other organisations;
- (f) to promote and organise the interchange of books, pamphlets, periodicals and other information between colleges, schools and other educational establishments or group of members of the Union or persons situated in another country;
- (g) to promote and encourage correspondence, debates, visits, and other activities between universities, colleges, schools, and other bodies situated in Mauritius and in another country;
- (h) to promote the Joint celebration of any national festival.

5. Patron of the Union

- (1) The Committee may appoint a suitable person to be the Patron of the Union.
- (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), the first Patron of the Union shall be His Excellency Sir Rabindrah Ghurburrun,. G.O.S.K., Q.C., Vice-President of the Republic.

6. Executive Committee

- (1) The Union shall be managed by an Executive Committee composed of not less than 11 nor more than 25 members.
- (2) The members of the Committee shall elect from among them-selves a President, 3 Vice-Presidents, a Secretary, an Assistant Secretary, a Treasurer and a Deputy Treasurer.
- (3) The Committee may fill any vacancy arising in its membership or in any office thereof.

- (4) Notwithstanding this section, the members of the Committee and the office bearers of the Union shall be the persons specified in the Schedule.
- (5) Seven members shall constitute a quorum.

7. Execution of documents

- (1) Every document issued by or on behalf of the Union shall be signed by the President and either the Treasurer or the Secretary.
- (2) Where the President, the Treasurer or the Secretary is absent or for any other reason unable to act, one of the Vice-Presidents, the Deputy Treasurer or the Assistant Secretary, as the case may be, shall act in his stead.

8. General Fund

- (1) There shall be a General Fund into which shall be paid all monies accruing to the Union, including the fees that may be levied from its members.
- (2) The Committee may pay out of the Fund any sum that is lawfully due by the Union or to be spent for achieving the objects of the Union.

9. Audit

- (1) The Committee may appoint a qualified person who shall, not later than the end of February in every year, furnish to the Patron of the Union and to the Committee, a report on an audit of the accounts of the Union for the previous year.
- (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), the first auditor of the Union shall be the Director of Audit.

10. Donations

Article 910 of the Code Napoleon shall not apply to the Union.

11. Rules

- (1) The Committee may, for the purposes of this Act, make rules for the Union which shall be binding on its members.
- (2) Rules made under this section shall not be required to be-
 - (a) approved by the Minister;
 - (b) laid before the Assembly; or
 - (c) published in the Gazette.

Passed by the National Assembly on the eighth day of June one thousand nine hundred and ninety-three.

ANDRÉ POMPON Clerk of the National Assembly SCHEDULE (Section 6)

Sir Victor Glover, Kt., G.O.S.K. President Prof. Jugdish Manrakhan) Mrs Meena Seetuising)) Vice-Presidents Mr Mohamed Amade Vayid, C.M.G.) Mr Colin Hare Mr Karl Abraham Mr Derek Taylor ••• Secretary · · · · · · · Assistant Secretary Treasurer Mrs Deepika Faugoo Deputy Treasurer A representative of the Prime Minister's Office A representative of the Ministry of External Affairs A representative of the Ministry of Education & Science A representative of the Ministry of Arts, Culture, Leisure and Reform Institutions The British High Commissioner or his representative The representative, British Council Sir Binod Bacha, Kt., C.M.G. Mr Surendra Bissoondoyal Mr Regis Fanchette, O.B E. Mrs M. Kistoe-West Mr Frank Richard Sir René Seeyave, Kt., C.B.E. Mr Peter White